Hello everyone!

Hi I'm Gary

Like Comment

Hi, my name is Gary Small. 

I'm 49 and have spent 25 years in the automotive industry. I have always had a love of wildlife and the outdoors and on my travels (before kids!) have been involved in some conservation and volunteering in South America and Iceland. I am looking to switch careers, away from the automotive world and am wanting a new role in conservation or other environmentally beneficial projects. I have many transferable skills, but no formal experience and as a consequence, my applications to new roles have not been successful. Through completing this course I am hoping to get a qualification to add to my CV that will enhance my chances of making successful applications. I hope to gain a better understanding of a new field and help in directing me towards the types of role that I am best suited to. 

My love of the outdoors has taken me on many adventures - travelling, hiking long distances and up a few mountains, camping out, and on some long cycle rides too! These are all things I enjoy sharing with my children, friends and family.

I look forward to starting the course and meeting everyone.

Cheers,

Gary

Gary Small

Product Engineer, LEVC

25 Years in the automotive industry, involved in new projects - focusing on Chassis, Steering and Brakes systems. I am now looking for new opportunities. Have been involved in / exposed to a number of conservation / geological projects in the past - e.g. Riomuchacho Organic Farm, Bahia, Ecuador; Tambopata Reserve, Peru; Analysis of the effects of cataclysmic floods in Iceland. Am also a keen outdoors enthusiast - have climbed Kilimanjaro in Tanzania, Cotopaxi in Ecuador and El Misti, Chachani in Peru, and Jbel Toubkal in Morocco. At home in the UK, I am a keen cyclist, having recently completed a John O'Groats to Land's End ride in 2019. I also maintain a large garden, growing some food, keeping bees and chickens and trying to create a haven for wildlife! I have always been interested in conservation and would like to utilise my transferable skills in this area or other environmental research and development projects.
2 Contributions
1 Followers
0 Following

Comments

Go to the profile of Beth Robinson
11 months ago

Hello Gary! Good to hear about your background and plans for the future. What long cycle rides have you done? I'm a big cycle fan myself.

Go to the profile of Gary Small
11 months ago

Hi Beth, All of my big rides have been in the UK. Mostly sportives, but also some self supported rides - Southampton to Ipswich, London to Manchester and last year - John O'Groats to Lands End ..... how about you?

Go to the profile of Beth Robinson
11 months ago

I would love to do John O'Groats to lands end! Every summer we just do a couple of days bikepacking, but this summer we took it a bit more seriously and cycled west east west, so Cornwall to the most easterly point (Lowestoft), up to north Norfolk, then back to Lands end.