Hello, I am Olivier from Costa Rica

Introduction

Like Comment

Hello, everyone. I am Olivier Chassot, from Costa Rica. I am happy to be part of the WildHub community. My professional interests are centered around biodiversity, landscape issues, connectivity conservation, transboundary conservation, protected areas and World Heritage Sites, sustainable development and human well-being, wildlife, governance and ecosystem conservation. I aspire to become the next Chair of the World Commission on Protected Areas (WCPA-IUCN), together with my friend and colleague Sunita Chaudhary from Nepal as Deputy Chair. What I enjoy the most about my work is being able to meet people from different cultural backgrounds. I like traveling, reading, photography, cooking and learning languages. I speak French, Spanish, Portuguese, and German, with some Indonesian. I am currently learning Mandarin and Chinese and I hope to keep on learning other languages to be able to communicate with more people, anywhere life takes me.

Olivier Chassot

Candidate, WCPA Chair, IUCN

I was born in Switzerland, but my current home is Costa Rica where I have been living with my wife and daughter for the last 25 years. Over two decades, I have developed extensive knowledge in sustainability topics along with a wide experience in designing, fundraising, and implementing conservation biology programs, biological corridors, project planning, implementation and monitoring, the leadership of inter-institutional alliances at the national, bi-national, regional and international level, as well as in the creation of protected areas. My areas of expertise include biodiversity, landscape issues, connectivity conservation, transboundary conservation, protected areas, and World Heritage Sites, sustainable development, wildlife, governance, and ecosystem conservation. I have worked for local and international NGOs and the academy, and define myself as a passionate conservation practitioner compromised with high standards of excellence, and a team player able to build strong intercultural relationships. I love trail running, photography, reading, cooking, traveling, and meeting new people from different cultural contexts. I am fluent in French, English, Spanish, Portuguese, with limited working proficiency in German and Indonesian. I am currently learning Mandarin and Arabic.
2 Contributions
10 Followers
135 Following

1 Comments

Go to the profile of Michael Cunningham
Michael Cunningham about 1 month ago

Great intro! 

I hope you get your ideal role! and find a wonderful life balance.

I would love to know more languages, I can get by in a few, as always try to learn to a conversational level wherever I travel. 

It's great to meet people through the Intros! hope one day to meet you but I am very based and rooted in the UK. I would love to come to Costa Rica. 

I have been to Guatemala and Honduras and started my love and possible career diving on Utila, a wonderful Caribbean island! I am now a Padi Rescue Diver.