Hello, I'm Tom

I am 26, an alumni of Bangor University in Wales and I am currently living and working in my hometown of Reading, UK.

Like Comment

I graduated in 2017 with my masters in zoology and conservation, having completed an integrated degree course. From there, I then traveled extensively around North America for two months; I visited many of the countries National Parks and kept a small number of field notes on some of the species and ecosystems that I saw. I then took up a three month research position at the estación biológica de doñana in Seville, Spain - whereby I was involved in various aspects of research, but predominantly I was working with a small vulture research group, made up of PhD and post doctoral students. The following spring, I accepted another three month position as a research assistant in North Carolina, and I worked alongside a PhD student conducting research on black rails - a secretive and endangered marsh bird.

 

Since the summer of 2018 I have been employed in the private sector, working in wildlife management and ecology. I trained as a falconer and have become proficient in handling and flying various species of raptor, but I have also worked on several large ecology projects; conducting bat surveys, nesting and breeding bird surveys and habitat surveys. This work has taken me all over the UK, from the Scottish Highlands, to the Isles of Scilly. This work has been very rewarding and challenging at times, I have learnt a great deal and gained many new transferable skills during my two years of employment. However, I now wish to embark on a new path and find employment or postgraduate study opportunities within the conservation sector. The UK lockdown has been tough, and it has undoubtedly stymied my efforts, but I have taken opportunities to learn and grow my skills and knowledge base. I’ve completed three online courses including a refresher QGIS and R statistics course, and, before the lockdown, I attended WildTeams residential Project Management for Wildlife Conservation course, at Cambridge University.

In my personal life I enjoy outdoor exercising, including recreational sports such as hiking, tennis and golf. I also enjoy reading, animal husbandry and socializing.

I’m glad to be a part of this new community! and I look forward to engaging with some of you through the multitude of rooms and channels.

Go to the profile of Tom Balaguè

Tom Balaguè

Falconer and Wildlife Biologist, NBC Environment

I am a Master's graduate in Zoology with Conservation, from Bangor University, Wales. My main research interests can be put under the umbrella of animal behaviour and ecology, conservation ecology of threatened species, the factors that threaten them and how we can conserve them. With a particular interest in the ecology of birds, large mammals and the affects that anthropogenic and environmental fluctuations can have on species and populations. In my current role I have trained as a falconer and biologist; for example, flying broadwing hawks and longwing falcons in both urban and rural environments. I have worked on large wildlife management projects all over the UK; namely Scotland and the Isles of Scilly. I have completed dawn and dusk bat surveys, dormouse surveys and ornithological surveys of breeding and wintering gull populations up and down the country.
1 Contributions
0 Followers
0 Following

5 Comments

Go to the profile of Beth Robinson
Beth Robinson about 2 months ago

Hello Tom! Hope you are well :) 

Go to the profile of Tom Balaguè
Tom Balaguè about 1 month ago

Hi Beth! Im well thanks, hope all is well with you and Matthew :) 

Go to the profile of Thirza Loffeld
Thirza Loffeld about 2 months ago

Hi Tom, Welcome to WildHub! Great to read about your background. During our WildHub festival last week, we started a new activity called WildHub Fika, which may be of interest to you. It's a great way of getting to know our community members. Read more about this here: https://wildhub.community/users/335755-thirza-loffeld/videos/activity-wildhub-fika-get-to-know-your-community

Have a nice day!

Go to the profile of Tom Balaguè
Tom Balaguè about 1 month ago

Thanks Thirza! 

Go to the profile of Daniele Clifford
Daniele Clifford about 1 month ago

Hi Tom, I also did a three-month Research Assistant position at Estación Biológica de Doñana! I assisted the group researching the transmission of vector-borne pathogens in 2018. It's a fantastic research institute.